Serious Games and Health Conference

This is the poster I’m presenting on Friday, May 13 at the Serious Games and Health Conference.  I am interested in feedback, as I think this is a somewhat new idea/angle and I would like to work to further develop it. Comments welcome!

EKJ_SEGAH16

This poster describes a method of analyzing patient education games to discern the values they reinforce, an important aspect of these games, as the intended players make up a vulnerable population.  I describe a method of analysis adapted from Ian Bogost’s (2010) work Persuasive Games, that involves charting the possible player actions within the game in addition to the game’s programmed reactions to each of those player actions in order to discover the specific playing techniques that a game reinforces. I also suggest that this method can be further utilized as a design tool to aid developers of patient education games in the creation of games that fully match their intentions.

